News in detail

21-6-2022 June
Electoral Code of Conduct starts
By Discover Tripura Correspondent

Agartala: June 21: With the by-elections in 6 Agartala and 8 Town Bardowali centers ahead, the campaign has come to an end. The campaign ended at 4 pm on Tuesday as per the instructions of the Election Commission. After the end of the campaign, the press conference was held at the conference hall of the district magistrate of the west district.

At a press conference, District Magistrate Debapriya Bardhan said that various initiatives have been taken to ensure peaceful conduct of by-elections in 6 Agartala and 8 Town Bardowali. There are 55 polling stations in 26 locations in Agartala assembly constituency.

There are a total of 56 polling stations in 22 locations in the 8 Town Bardowali Center. The total number of voters in Agartala center is 51,639. The total number of voters in the 8 Town Bardowali Center is 46,583. Six candidates are contesting in each of the two centers. This time, the votes of Dibangangan and those aged 80 years and above were taken home by postal ballot. Law and order has been monitored to ensure a peaceful election. There are adequate security guards.

They have been deployed in different places. Each polling station has web casting and videography. The CRPF will be responsible for the security of the polling station. Two model polling stations have been set up in each of the two assembly constituencies. There are also two polling stations each run by women voters in both the centers. At the press conference, the district governor further said that section 144 has been issued in the area of 6 Agartala and 8 Town Bardowali assembly constituencies from 5 pm on Tuesday to 5 pm on June 24.

While section 144 is applicable, 5 persons or more cannot be gathered together. Multiple bikes or cars will not be able to move in the area unnecessarily. There are also a number of other restrictions. However, voters will not be subject to this ban. Besides, all British liquor shops in Agartala Municipal Corporation area have been declared closed from June 21 to June 23 and June 26. All measures have been taken to ensure peaceful conduct of by-elections in 6 Agartala and 8 Town Bardowali Assembly constituencies. Adequate security measures have also been taken.

The district governor urged the voters to go to the polls without fear and exercise their democratic rights. Apart from the district superintendent of police, returning officers of the two assembly constituencies Shailesh Kumar Yadav and Asim Saha were also present at the press conference.
Tags: Tripura   Others